Crack New Zealand sprint cyclist Sam Webster has stayed on track to defend his Commonwealth Games crown.

Webster reached tonight's sprint medal races, though the news wasn't so good for the other two New Zealanders in the sprint, Eddie Dawkins and Ethan Mitchell.

Meanwhile, all three New Zealand men qualified for the 15km scratch track final this evening.

Nick Kergozou, Dylan Kennett and Campbell Stewart eased through their 15km heats without too many concerns, finishing in the top half of their races to set themselves for tonight’s final.

All three sprinters sailed comfortably through the first round, but in the first set of elimination races, Dawkins was beaten by Englishman Joe Truman by 0.202s.

Mitchell progressed through this round with a win over Australian Patrick Constable by 0.138s and Webster beat Philip Hinds of England by 0.042s.

In the quarter-finals, Mitchell had to play second fiddle to Australian Jacob Schmidt, losing both races. Webster had to work hard, but eliminated Englishman Ryan Owens in two straight races. 

Gold Coast 2018 Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games Nick Kergozou De La Boessiere Campbell Stewart Dylan Kennett Sam Webster Ethan Mitchell Eddie Dawkins Cycling - Track
Tweet Share