Tokyo gold medal winner Emma Twigg and four-time Olympian Kayla Whitelock have been elected to the NZOC Athletes' Commission.

The athletes join Commission Chair Sarah Cowley Ross, who was re-elected, in securing the three seats which were up for election following the Tokyo Olympic Games.

The New Zealand Olympic Committee Athletes' Commission is an advisory group made up of Summer and Winter Olympians and Commonwealth Games representatives which acts as the athletes' voice to ensure that athlete’s views are heard and considered within the NZOC and in its decision making.

Athletes' Commission Chair Sarah Cowley Ross (Olympian #1134) says ensuring athletes views are represented in decision making is more important than ever.

"I'm thrilled to be re-elected to the Commission and would like to welcome our two new members who will work to champion our athletes views and opinions," said Cowley Ross.

"We are on a mission to increase the mana of the athlete voice in New Zealand and are putting a real focus on progressing athlete wellbeing in the high performance environment."

Twigg says she's looking forward to joining the Commission and continuing to ensure the athlete voice is at the forefront of the Olympic movement.

"I hope to be able to draw upon learnings from the experiences that have shaped my career, and make sure the focus remains on championing athlete wellbeing, equal opportunity, and inclusivity in sport and in our boardrooms," said Twigg.

Former Black Sticks Captain and two time Commonwealth Games medal winner Whitelock added that she's looking forward to having an impact through the players voice, while ensuring a māori perspective is involved in decision making.

The athletes join Richie Patterson, Alison Shanks, Beau-James Wells, Ben Sandford, Sarah Walker and Alexis Pritchard on the Commission.

The Athletes' Commission has a representative on the NZOC Board, ensuring a direct line to the decision makers and decision making within the NZOC.

The first meeting of the new look Commission will be held in December. Further information about the Athletes' Commission is available here.

Emma Twigg Kayla Whitelock
Tweet Share