Arthur Parkin was selected for four Olympics, though he attended just three, missing the 1980 Games because of the Western boycott.

Parkin made his Olympic debut at Munich in 1972, when the New Zealand team could finish only ninth. However, like many of his team-mates Parkin used that experience well four years later in Montreal.

By 1976, there was a vast reservoir of experience in the New Zealand side. Of the team that went to the Montreal Olympics, Paul Ackerley, Thur Borren, John Christensen and Tony Ineson, plus Barry and Selwyn Maister, played for the University club in Christchurch.

Besides the core of Christchurch players, others in the team with previous Olympic experience were Alan McIntyre, Trevor Manning, Greg Dayman, Ramesh Patel, Jeff Archibald and Parkin.

The New Zealanders, coached by Ross Gillespie, caused a shock at Montreal by beating Australia 1-0 to win the gold medal. It was not a triumph easily achieved - they won a thrilling play-off match against Spain 1-0 just to squeeze into the semi-finals. There they caused an upset by beating the impressive Netherlands side 2-1 in the third period of extra time.

The final, a torrid affair, tipped New Zealand's way when their captain, Tony Ineson, smashed home a penalty corner shortly after halftime.

Putting the disappointment of not being permitted to defend the Olympic title in 1980 behind him, Parkin captained New Zealand in 1983 at the Pentangular Trophy in Kuala Lumpur, and at the 1984 Olympics in Los Angeles, when the team finished seventh.

The 1976 hockey team was inducted into the New Zealand Sports Hall of Fame in 1990.

Tweet Share

Arthur's Games History