The NZOC Board comprises a President and five members elected by the General Assembly, together with the two New Zealand IOC Members and a representative of the Athletes Commission.

The current NZOC Board members are:

Liz Dawson (President)

Liz Dawson was elected as a member of the NZOC Board in 2012. Liz is based in the Wairarapa and Wellington and is currently a director of New Zealand Cricket, the Chair of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 Local Organising Committee, Oceania Continental member of the ANOC Gender Equity Commission, Deputy Chair of the ONOC Equity Commission, a director and shareholder of the Hurricanes, and a director of the Racing Industry Transition Agency.

Dawson also sits as an Independent Appointee to the St Kilda Football Club’s Integrity Committee (Melbourne) and has served on and continues to do so, a number of independent review panels, particularly in relation to sport.

Dawson has been a director and Chair of a number of boards over the past 20 years in both the sporting and commercial sectors, following an executive career in FMCG, Financial Services, and sport.

Dawson was awarded the Member of New Zealand Order of Merit in 2018 for services to sport.

Diana Puketapu (Chair)

Diana Puketapu was elected as a member of the New Zealand Olympic Committee Board in 2015. Diana is the current Director of New Zealand Cricket, Napier Port, Tamaki Redevelopment Company, Ngati Porou Holdings, Ngati Porou Seafoods and Manawanui Support. Diana is also a chartered member of the NZ Institute of Directors.

Diana has previously worked as a Chief Financial Officer, both in the commercial sector and sporting environment. She spent six years working as the Chief Financial Officer for the America’s Cup Sailing teams.

As a Fellow Chartered Accountant, Diana is the Audit and Risk Committee Chair for the New Zealand Olympic Committee. She is also on the Maori Advisory Committee.

Graham Child

Graham Child joins the New Zealand Olympic Committee Board as an experienced business leader, board member and qualified accountant.

Child is a founding Trustee of Aktive – Auckland Sport and Recreation having been on the board since its inception in 2013. He has also served as the Chair of Hockey NZ and was a Board Member for the World Masters Games in 2017. He has extensive senior management and governance experience and holds several commercial directorships.

Child comes from a strong sporting background, having been a former hockey New Zealand representative while actively coaching several teams.

Sarah Cowley-Ross, Athletes' Commission Representative

Cowley-Ross has represented New Zealand at two Commonwealth Games: Glasgow 2014 and Melbourne 2006, where she finished 10th in the heptathlon event.

She also competed at the London 2012 Olympic Games finishing 26th in the heptathlon event. Cowley-Ross is one of New Zealand’s top heptathletes with a PB of 6135 points; while regarded as one of New Zealand's most successful high jumpers of all time, with a personal best of 1.91m. 

Cowley-Ross is Chair of the New Zealand Olympic Committee's Athlete's Commission and also represents the organisations Athlete Ambassador program, a role which sees her visit schools and speak to children about Olympic values and her journey. 

Tony Hall

Tony Hall was appointed to the New Zealand Olympic Committee Board in 2012. He is based in Canterbury and has an extensive background in business, economic development, education and sport.

Hall is also a Board member of High Performance Sport New Zealand, a trustee and previous chair of the North Canterbury Sport & Recreation Trust and hold a number of other trustee, chair and directorial positions. Additionally, Hall offers ongoing support and sponsorship to the Winter Paralympic team.

Hall was awarded Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in June 2017 for services to sport and education.


Annette Purvis

Annette has been involved in Sports Governance for over 15 years.  As Athletics New Zealand Chairperson from 2007 to 2018 she led a transformation programme across governance, member engagement and High Performance. Annette has also held governance roles with IPC World Athletic Championships 2011, Christchurch School of Gymnastics and is currently a New Zealand Olympic Committee Board member and High Performance Sport New Zealand Board Member. She also holds Trustee roles with Nga Puna Wai Sports Hub, Christchurch’s newest sporting hub and the Canterbury Development Sports Academy.

Currently Annette is a member of World Athletics Development Commission and Gender Leadership Taskforce. Formerly a member of World Athletics Womens Committee for 8 years, Annette has been a champion for gender equity within World Athletics.

Annette is an experienced senior manager within the Insurance sector having lead large operational teams and projects. Her most recent work has seen her lead earthquake response and recovery strategies for IAG Insurance. Annette is a member of an Insurance sector group working with the Earthquake Commission to create an improved disaster response model for New Zealand.

Annette is passionate about the NZOCs unique role to truly inspire New Zealanders through the actions of our athletes and teams; but also through educating young kiwis in the Olympic values through sport. She is athlete focused and champions equity and inclusion in sport, leadership and governance.

Sarah Walker, IOC Member

Sarah Walker became New Zealand’s first Olympic BMX medallist, winning silver at London 2012, following on from a fourth place at Beijing 2008. She is a three time gold medal winning World Champion, with an additional three silver and three bronze medals won from 2007 - 2015. During this time she also took home a total of eight medals including four golds from World Cup events.

While she missed qualifying for the Rio Olympic Games due to a last-minute injury, Walker was made a member of the IOC Olympic Athletes’ Commission and is today an IOC Member.

Walker has served on the Women in Sport IOC Commission and is a current member of the IOC Sustainability and Legacy Commission, Digital and Technology Commission, Future Hosts Commission and the Paris 2024 Coordination Commission. Walker has also been named the Chair of the IOC Athletes' Rights and Responsibilities Declaration Steering Committee. 

Walker has completed a number of governance and leadership courses and remains a competitive athlete.