Background - Established in 1993 to commemorate the memory of Sir Cecil Lancelot Stewart Cross (1912-1989), 8th IOC member in New Zealand (1969-1987) and a member of the IOC Executive Board (1978-1982). Sir Lance was appointed to various media related Commissions within the IOC, and also served as Chairman and President of the New Zealand Olympic Committee. The Cup remains at the Olympic Museum in Wellington.

Award - Name of recipient and year awarded engraved on the CupAwarded - Biennially in a non-games year on Olympic Day.

Jury - Olympic Awards Council recommendation to the Executive Board.Criteria - Awarded for the most significant contribution by a member of the media to the Olympic or Commonwealth Games.

Recipients1993     David Oglivie, (Print - Evening Post)1995    Libby Young, (Television -TV3)1997    Ron Palenski, (Print - Dominion)1999    Keith McEwen, (Television -TVNZ)2001    Keith Quinn, (Television -TVNZ)2003    Brendan Telfer (Television - TVNZ, Radio - Radio Sport)2005    Joseph Romanos

2007    David Leggat (New Zealand Herald)2009    Geoff Bryan