The New Zealand Olympic Museum preserves the rich and unique heritage of the Olympic Movement in New Zealand. Treasures donated by our Olympic and Commonwealth Games heroes are cherished by the New Zealand Olympic Committee and reflect our culture and sporting history.
The Olympic Museum also gathers material from athletes and administrators who participated at the Commonwealth Games since 1930. These objects provide for us a unique insight into the personalities that have contributed to the rich and enduring history of the New Zealand Olympic Committee.
Highlights of the collection include Te Mahutonga (Maori Cloak) presented to the New Zealand Olympic Committee by Maori Queen, Te Arikinui Dame Te Atairangikaahu in 2004. Treasures also include the running shoes of one of New Zealand’s Olympic Heroes Peter Snell and an autograph book belonging to Olympian Stan Lay who represented New Zealand in Athletics at the Amsterdam Olympic Games in 1928.
The Olympic Museum also challenges our future by examining the issues facing sport as we head into the 21st Century and promotes the Olympic Values and philosophy of the Olympic Movement.
The New Zealand Olympic Museum was established in 1998. Its purpose is to be the Centre of Legacy for the New Zealand Olympic Committee’s involvement and participation at both the Olympic and Commonwealth Games.
As an outcome of the New Zealand Olympic Committee relocating its headquarters to Auckland, the Olympic Museum Gallery at Queens Wharf, Wellington closed in January 2013. The New Zealand Olympic Museum remains fully operational, however, we offer no public access until further notice. We are developing new and exciting ways of delivering Olympic Museum content via www.olympic.org.nz, and developing outreach mobile museum initiatives.
We are grateful to the members of the Olympic and Commonwealth family for their ongoing donations of valuable memorabilia and support.
For further information contact:Charles Callis, New Zealand Olympic Museum Directorcharles@olympic.org.nz021 774 179