Background - In 1911 a Festival of Empire meeting to celebrate the Accession of George V was held in London between Canada, the United Kingdom and Australasia. The original cup, donated by Lord Lonsdale, was won by Canada, by whom it was subsequently given to the British Empire Games Federation.In order to ensure its best use as an Empire trophy it was decided to melt down the large cup, and with the silver contents to make one principal cup to be held by the Federation, and smaller cups for the several British Empire Games Associations in existence in 1934.  The cup received by New Zealand was a copy of an original Queen Anne cup and is of the same design as the cup presented by Lord Lonsdale reproduced in proper scale.In 1961, the Executive Committee decided to award the cup to a competing athlete on an annual basis. The Cup remains at the Olympic Museum in Wellington.Award - Rosebowl; Name of recipient, year and sport awarded engraved on the Cup.Awarded - Annually at the General Assembly.Jury - Olympic Awards Council recommendation to the Executive Board.Criteria - Awarded to the competing New Zealand athlete or team who made the most outstanding contribution to Olympic and Commonwealth sport during the previous year.Recipients 1961Murray Halberg (athletics) 1962Peter G Snell (athletics) 1963William D Baillie (athletics) 1964Peter G Snell (athletics)1965Don Oliver (weightlifting)1966Valerie Young (athletics)1967David McKenzie (athletics) 1968Ian Ballinger (shooting) 1969Jeff Julian (athletics)1970W D (Harry) Kent (cycling)1971Les Mills (athletics) 1972Rod Dixon (athletics) 1973Jack Foster (athletics)1974Richard Tayler (athletics)1975John Walker (athletics) 1976T L J (Dick) Quax (athletics)1978Rebecca Perrott (swimming) 1979Ian Ferguson (canoeing) 1980Anthony Cuff (cycling) 1981David Barnes & Hamish Wilcox (yachting) 1982Neroli Fairhall (archery) 1983David Barnes & Hamish Wilcox (yachting) 1984Ian Ferguson (canoeing) 1985Ian Ferguson & Paul McDonald (canoeing) 1986Anthony Mosse (swimming)1987Paul McDonald (canoeing)1988Bruce Kendall (yachting) 1989Anthony Mosse (swimming) 1990Gary Anderson (cycling) 1991Anna Simcic (swimming) 1992Danyon Loader (swimming) 1993Brenda Lawson (rowing) 1994Stephen Petterson (shooting)1995Chris White (rowing) 1996Danyon Loader (swimming) 1997Beatrice Faumuina (athletics) 1998Rob Waddell (rowing)1999Barbara Kendall (yachting) 2000Rob Waddell (rowing) 2001Blyth Tait (equestrian) 2002Sarah Ulmer (cycling) 2003Caroline and Georgina Evers- Swindell (rowing)2004Sarah Ulmer (cycling) 2005New Zealand Rowing Team (rowing)2006Valerie Vili (athletics)2007Valerie Vili (athletics) 2008Caroline and Georgina Evers-Swindell (rowing)2009Mahe Drysdale (rowing) 2010Silver Ferns (netball)2011Valerie Adams (athletics)