Background - Established in 1995 by Kodak New Zealand Limited. The original award, a vintage Kodak camera mounted in a special case, remains at the Olympic Museum in Wellington.

Award- Diploma and photograph of presentation. The recipient’s name and year awarded is engraved on the Trophy. Awarded - Awarded biennially in a non-Games year on Olympic Day.

Jury - Comprised of one member designated from each of Kodak New Zealand, New Zealand Olympic Committee and the Photographic Industry in New Zealand. Criteria - Awarded to the best photograph of an Olympic or Commonwealth Games sport taken the previous year.

Recipients 1995 Anthony Phelps (Dominion) 1997 Ross Land (Fotopress) 1999 Brett Phibbs (NZ Herald) 2001 Phil Reid (Evening Post) 2003 Andrew Cornaga (Photosport) 2005 Andrew Cornaga (Photosport) 2009 Phil Walter (Getty Images)