Willis and Farquhar to compete at Prefontaine Diamond League

Friday 1 June 2012

Olympic 1500 metres silver medallist Nick Willis will line up tomorrow (Saturday afternoon NZ time) in the star-studded Bowerman Mile at the famous Prefontaine Classic in Eugene, Oregon, round four of the IAAF Diamond League. Willis has the tenth fastest mile time in the field, with seven having personal bests under 3 minutes 50 seconds. Willis best of 3 minutes 50.66 seconds, was recorded when he finished second at the Prefontaine Classic in 2008, just months before his Beijing success. The New Zealand 1500 metres record holder finished tenth in the race in 2011 in a time of 3m 51.95, his second fastest mile. He would like to go under the 3m 50s mark and challenge John Walkers New Zealand record of 3m 49.08s. Stuart Farquhar leads the world in Javelin for 2012 with a personal best of 86.31 metres, but in Eugene will be up against the current world Champion in Matthias de Zordo from Germany on Day 2 of the Prefontaine Classic (Sunday morning NZ time). Also in the field are five other finalists from the 2011 World Championships. Although six in the field have thrown further than the New Zealand champion in previous years, none have got further than Farquhar in 2012. Meanwhile one of the New Zealand medallists from the 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games, Andrea Miller begins her 2012 London campaign with a race in Geneva on Sunday night. Miller, the New Zealand record holder at 13.10 seconds, set the record winning the Geneva meeting in 2009 is chasing the Olympic selection standard of 12.96 seconds. Her most recent race was the New Zealand championships at Waitakere in March, where she ran 13.49s. New Zealands Olympic marathon hope Kimberley Smith will run in the San Diego Rock N Roll Half Marathon on Monday morning (NZ time), aiming to continue her winning habit over the distance in the US.

London 1908 London 1948 Beijing 2008 London 2012 Beijing 2022 London 1934 Delhi 2010 Les Mills Richard de Groen Tony Popplewell Gordon Irving Sarah Ulmer Steven Ferguson Helen Norfolk Chris Donaldson Beatrice Faumuina Gordon Dale Hollows Greg Henderson Brendon Cameron Tim Carswell Susy Pryde Helen Clarke Anna Lawrence Diana Te Awa Suzie Muirhead Madeline Hernon Gary Hermansson Donna Wilkins Nigel Avery Gary Anderson Julian Dean Evelyn Williamson Hamish Carter Rob Waddell Chunli Li Karen Li Blyth Tait Dean Kent Caryn Paewai Dick Tonks Jan Cameron Michael Aish Garry Bell Jill Caldwell Dee Werder Kashi Leuchs David Beattie
Tweet Share Email