Published Thursday 13 May 2010

A twelve-strong swim team was named for the Commonwealth Games by New Zealand Olympic Committee (NZOC) in Auckland today.

This follows the week-long New Zealand Open Championships that doubled as the official trial for the Commonwealth Games.

The swimmers are the first athletes to be named to the Delhi team and the team of twelve was confirmed by the NZOC after athletes demonstrated their capability of a top six finish at the Indian games.

Swimming New Zealand selectors had successfully put a case to extend the squad from seven to twelve after re-evaluation of recent times worldwide.

“The initial Swimming New Zealand qualification times agreed with the NZOC were set against the world times 12 months ago,” said Jan Cameron, General Manager Performance and Pathways, Swimming New Zealand.

“Times around the world and particularly in the recent Australian Trials have eased back from those targets that we had to set under the swimming environment 12 months ago with the new FINA suit regulations.

“We have applied exactly the same criteria of top six ranking in the Commonwealth based on these latest results and information. We have adjusted the criteria to 890 FINA points and under this weighting it means there are an additional five swimmers under the qualifying ranking for the Commonwealth Games. The NZOC selectors were satisfied that all the swimmers meet the top six selection criteria. ”

The team was named today by NZOC President Mike Stanley. New Zealand’s most medalled Commonwealth Games athlete, Danyon Loader, was on hand to congratulate the swimmers. Loader won one gold, three silvers and two bronzes at the Victoria Commonwealth Games in 1994.

This also includes the addition of the women’s 4x100m and 4x200m freestyle relay

Daniel Bell (North Shore) 100m backstroke, 200m backstroke;

Lauren Boyle (North Shore) 200m freestyle, 400m freestyle, 4x200m freestyle relay;

Moss Burmester (North Shore) 200m butterfly;

Melissa Ingram (North Shore) 200m backstroke;

Hayley Palmer (North Shore) 100m freestyle; 4x100m freestyle relay.

Glenn Snyders (North Shore) 50m breaststroke, 100m breaststroke;

Natalie Wiegersma (Waverley, Southland) 200m individual medley, 400m individual medley.

Tash Hind (Capital) 200m freestyle, 4x200m freestyle relay, 4x100m freestyle relay.

Penelope Marshall (North Shore) 200m freestyle, 4x200m freestyle relay, 4x100m freestyle relay.

Amaka Gessler (Aqua Gym) 4x200m freestyle relay, 4x100m freestyle relay.

Emily Thomas (North Shore) 100m backstroke

Gareth Kean (Capital) 200m backstroke.